It’s legally required to have car insurance to be able to drive your vehicle. You could face penalties that vary per state if you’re caught driving without proof of insurance. Some consequences include license suspension, expensive tickets or lack of financial protection in case of an accident.
In North Carolina, drivers are required to have liability coverage that equals a minimum of $30,000. This can be very costly if you’re held liable and don’t have the backing of an insurance company. Know the importance of having auto insurance in Raleigh to avoid paying heavy damages.
6 Consequences of Not Getting Car Insurance
Driving without car insurance can cause a lot of legal and monetary risks. There could also be property damage, injury and even death. Here are some top consequences of not having car insurance:
- Pay heavy fines. If you’re caught driving without insurance in North Carolina, they can suspend your license or charge fines from $50 to $150. For the first offense, you’ll pay a $50 civil penalty fine and you might be placed on probation for up to 45 days.
For a second offense, the penalty increases to $100 and for the third, the penalty reaches up to $150. You might also face jail time or probation for up to 45 days for the second and third offenses.
- Pay losses for damages to a third party or property. Third-party liability is payment for the losses incurred when you unintentionally harm any person or property in an accident. It’s mandatorily covered by car insurance, but you’ll have to shoulder those losses if you don’t have one.
It might cost you hundreds of thousands of dollars in repairs and hospital bills. In worst cases, the other driver might even sue you and go after any savings you have to pay their bills.
- Pay losses for your own damage. Your own vehicle might also suffer damages in an accident. The repair costs will be paid by your car insurance policy. If you don’t have one, you’ll have to pay for your own repairs while also paying for third-party losses you inadvertently caused.
- Legal complications. You can also be involved with legal complications if a valid car insurance cover is not presented. You would get penalized, or worse, you might be imprisoned. This, together with the extensive financial loss you suffered due to damages to yourself or a third party, can even lead to emotional trauma.
- License suspension. If you can’t present proof of continuous insurance throughout your registration period, your license can be suspended, you might get a ticket and there can also be up to 45 days of probation.
- Impounded vehicle. Driving without car insurance might get your vehicle impounded especially if you’re involved in an accident. They might also have your license and registration revoked. In most states, you won’t be able to drive the car again unless you submit proof of insurance to your state’s DMV.
Dependable Auto Insurance in North Carolina
Amistad Insurance Services will ensure that you get the car insurance that’s right for you, depending on your financial situation, condition of your car and preferred level of coverage. Our expert team provides the best insurance services and gives versatile options to maximize your coverage.
For inquiries, call us at (919) 926-7166 or fill out our online form.